Viewing: Video - View all posts

Kendrick Lamar produced the soundtrack for Black Panther 


Kendrick Lamar produced and curated the soundtrack for Ryan Coogler’s upcoming Black Panther film, with help from Top Dawg label head Anthony Tiffith. The first single, “All the Stars,” is a collaboration between Lamar and his labelmate SZA. 

Lamar provided a statement via press release this morning, saying “Marvel Studios’ Black Panther is amazing, from its cast to its director. The magnitude of this film showcases a great marriage of art and culture. I’m truly honored to contribute my knowledge of producing sound and writing music alongside Ryan and Marvel’s vision.”

His involvement in the soundtrack was hinted at in the music video for his song “Love,” which was released on December 22nd. This isn’t the first blockbuster to have a soundtrack produced by a pop star — Lorde curated the soundtrack for The Hunger Games, Jay-Z did Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby — but it is the first time that Marvel has hired one or commissioned original songs for a film. The press release says that Coogler reached out to Lamar personally to work on the project. 

Previously, Marvel has made serious money off of the much-hyped soundtracks for Guardians of the Galaxy and Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, and the latter was the top-selling vinyl of 2017.  

Black Panther is in theaters February 16th.

Bruno Mars & Cardi B Pay Homage To ‘In Living Color’ With The “Finesse (Remix)” Video 

VIBE- Three days into 2018 and Bruno Mars and Cardi B set the tone (and bar) for how creative music videos can be. On Wednesday (January 3) the two Grammy nominated artists generated quite the buzz online after revealing their unexpected collaboration for Mars’ “Finesse,” which was only accented by the 90s themed cover art to go with it.

Read more

Gucci Mane and The Weeknd Collab on “Curve”  

Gucci Mane‘s new album Mr. Davis was supposed to drop this Friday, Sept. 15, but it’s now been pushed back to Oct. 15, according to iTunes. Ahead of the LP’s release, Guwop has unleashed his collab with The Weeknd called “Curve.” Listen to the song below and hear him talk about the record with Zane Lowe on Beats On Radio as well. 

Peep the full tracklist for Mr. Davis, which also features guest appearances from ScHoolboy Q, A$AP Rocky, Young Dolph, Slim Jxmmi, Big Sean and many others.  

Gucci Mane’s Mr. Davis Tracklist 

1. “Work in Progress (Intro)” 
2. “Back On” 
3. “I Get the Bag” Feat. Migos 
4. “Stunting Ain’t Nuthin” Feat. Slim Jxmmi & Young Dolph 
5. “Curve” feat. The Weeknd 
6. “Enormous” Feat. Ty Dolla $ign 
7. “Members Only” 
8. “Money Make Ya Handsome” 
9. “Changed” Feat. Big Sean 
10. “We Ride” Feat. Monica 
11. “Lil Story” Feat. ScHoolboy Q 
12. “Tone it Down” Feat. Chris Brown 
13. “Make Love” 
14. “Money Piling” 
15. “Jumped Out the Whip” Feat. A$AP Rocky 
16. “Miss My Woe” Feat. Rico Love 
17. “Made It (Outro)”

Guwop previously dropped the video for “I Get the Bag,” the Migos collab that’s also on his upcoming album. His autobiography drops Sept. 19, and you can watch a trailer for the upcoming book on the Atlanta rapper’s life.